Delhi In Driver Seat Against Punjab In Cooch Behar Trophy (U-19)

Delhi batting first against Punjab scored 520 in 135.3 overs. They were well served by an opening partnership of 192 runs in 39.1 overs between Sannat Sangwan and Manjot Kalra. Sannat Sangwan was the first to go castled by Arshdeep Singh for 43. Thereafter, Manjot Kalra was caught by Prabh Simran Singh off left arm spinner Prerit Dutta for a hurricane century 173 off 131 balls inclusive of 25 boundaries and five sixes. Ayush Badoni 66, Mayank Rawat 47 and Priyansh Arya 93 off 112 balls with 12 balls and four sixes were the other contributors with the bat for Delhi. For Punjab the bowling honours were shared by Rahul Kashyap 3 for 108, Arshdeep Singh 2 for 139, Mandeep Singh 2 for 96 and Rohit Kumar 2 for 87.

Replying Punjab were on the back foot having lost 3 wickets for 85 in 38.2 overs. Jagmeet Singh 20, Arjun Verma 33 put on 33 runs for the opening stand before Jagmeet Singh was lbw to Loveneesh Singh for 20. Then Arjun Verma and Nehal Wadhera took the total to 83 when Arjun Verma was caught by Mayank Rawat off Hrithik shokeen for 33. Next in Prerit Dutta was caught by Gulzar Singh off Hrithik Shokeen before the batsman could open his account. At close of play Nehal Wadhera unbeaten 25 off 63 balls with 4 boundaries and one six and Prabhsimran singh unbeaten 2 were at the crease. Hrithik Shokeen 2 for 30 and Loveneesh singh 1 for 21 were the main wicket takers for Delhi.

Punjab have won their earlier two league matches against Tamil Nadu and Jharkhand.